Mahindra Adventure sweeps two out of top three positions at the ‘Rally of Coimbatore’

Mumbai, 31 July 2017:  Mahindra Adventure started the Indian National Rally Championship’s 2017 season on a high note, claiming the 1st & 3rd position at the ‘Rally of Coimbatore 2017′.

The diesel powered Mahindra Adventure Super XUV 500 driven by two-time Asia Pacific Rally Champion Gaurav Gill, with co-driver Musa Sherif, took the top honours, dominating from the start. They maintained their lead to win the top position in 1 min 33 secs ahead of runner up Karna Kudur. Winners from last year, Amittrajit Ghosh with co-driver Ashwin Naik in their Super XUV 500 also had an good run despite a flat tyre in the second stage.

The MRF Rally of Coimbatore 2017 is the 1st round of the MRF FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) 2017, which runs in compliance with the International Sporting Code of the FIA (Federation Internationale de l’Automobile) and the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI). The Coimbatore rally has five special stages (SS1 to SS5) which covers a distance of 74.55 kms and a transport stage 63.22 kms, making it a 133.77 kms gravel surface.

Since entering the Indian Rally Championship in 2013, Mahindra Adventure’s Super XUV 500 has had 12 outright victories in 18 events. In 2013, the team won the Indian National SUV Rally Championship title, followed by the Indian Rally Championship title in 2014, and was the Overall championship winning team in the Indian Rally Championship 2015 and 2016.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top