Suresh Rana & Ashwin Naik win the 18th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya title

Manali, 15 October 2016: Suresh Rana and his co-driver Ashwin Naik clinched their 10th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya title this year, driving a Grand Vitara and clocking a total of 03:42:02 hrs.

Tsering Lhakpa and Venu Ramesh Kumar came 2nd in their Polaris RZR 1000, clocking 03:49:15 hrs; and the third position was bagged by Sandeep Sharma and Karan Arya who clocked 03:51:11 hrs in their Maruti Suzuki Gypsy.

The route traversed 800 kms through some tough terrains like Kaza, Spiti, Jispa and Sarchu.

In the adventure category, Jagmeet Gill and Chandan Sen took the lead driving a Maruti Suzuki Swift. Ajgar Ali & Mohd. Mustafa came second and Sunder Singh & Zaman Daoud Khan finished third. Both teams were driving the Vitara Brezza.

Tanveer Abdul Wahid in his TVS RTR450 won the Motoquad Xtreme followed by R Natraj in his TVS RTR450 at second position and UmangSaxena at the third position driving the KTM Duke 390.

There was one casualty this year, as Subhomoy Paul tragically lost his life during the race. All participants, organisers and sponsors paid rich tributes to the ace rallyist from Kolkata, who had participated thrice in Raid de Himalaya and several other international motorsports challenges. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top