Subir Roy and Nirav Mehta win the Maruti Suzuki Backwaters Rally

Kochi, 19 June 2016: Subir Roy and Nirav Mehta in their Swift emerged champions in the Backwaters Rally that concluded in Kochi today. Satish Gopalakrishnan and his co-driver Savera D’Souza took the second position in their Grand Vitara, while Jagmeet Gill and his navigator Chandan Sen finished third in a Vitara Brezza. Among the amateurs, Santhosh M Kumar and his navigator Pradeep N came first.

Winners of the Backwaters Rally, Subir Roy & co-driver Nirav Mehta

Covering a distance of 650 kms from Ooty to Kochi, the action-packed short format Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) rally is meant to encourage motorsports among the masses; and saw over 30 teams traverse through the scenic route in the South.

The rally was split into four groups: Non-Championship (Expert), Non-Championship (Amateur), Denizen (Expert) and Denizen (Amateur). The final results with total penalties were as follows:
– First: Subir Roy &  Nirav Mehta – 00:17:18
– Second: Satish Gopalakrishnan & Savera D’Souza – 00:18:17
– Third: Jagmeet Gill & Chandan Sen – 00:18:25

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top