14th Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm Rally flagged off

Noida, 03 April 2016: The 14th edition of of the Desert Storm Rally which will cover a total of 2000 kms, travelling through Hanumanagarh, Bikaner, Jaisalmer and Jaipur has been flagged off from Noida. The last leg of the rally will conclude in Jodhpur on 10 April. This year a record 200 motorsport enthusiasts are participating from various cities like Jaipur, Mumbai, Delhi, Gurgaon, Chandigarh and Bangalore. Maruti Suzuki’s newly launched Vitara Brezza will be a part of the rally for the first time.

Introduced in 2002, the rally provides the thrill of off-road rallying and this year has an innovative flexi-format in the Xplore category. It will span over six-days across four categories – XTreme, NDure, XPlore & Moto. A night leg of the rally covering 200 kms is planned for the second day in the Bikaner to Jaisalmer section.

Champions from past rallies like Suresh Rana, Sandeep Sharma, C S Santosh and Karthick Maruthi will be seen in action. Three time winners of Desert Storm, Bani Yadav and her navigator Sukhbans Mann will be one of the 6 women teams. Winner of Desert Storm 2010 and 2015, Aabhishek Mishra, from Jaipur will be seen driving the Maruti Suzuki Vitara and Karthick Maruthi will be driving the Vitara Brezza.

The schedule is as follows:

2nd and3rd April 2016
3rd April 2016
Ceremonial Flag off from Noida
Rally to travel from Noida to Hanumangarh
4th April 2016
Leg 1
Hanumangarh to Bikaner with two competitive sections enroute.
5th and 6th April  2016
Leg 2
Bikaner to Jaisalmer
Toughest day of the rally. 187 kms of competition distance.
7th April 2016
Leg 3
Rally starts in the wee morning hours at Jaisalmer.
Prize distribution for the Xplore Dawn category
8th April 2016
Leg 4
Two stages plus a night leg
Start of Xplore Dusk
9th April  2016
Leg 5
Rally travels to Jodhpur
10th April  2016
Prize Distribution
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top