Top 3 positions for Team Mahindra Adventure at K 1000 Rally 2014

Mumbai, 2 December 2014: After winning the Rally of Maharashtra, Rally of Coimbatore and Rally De Bengal, Mahindra Adventure’s Super XUV500 won the top three positions at the 40th edition of the K 1000 rally. This was the 5th round of the Indian Rally Championship (IRC) 2014, and with this win the team has sealed the overall title in this premier national rallying series.

The Super XUV500 became the first ever diesel SUV to win the Indian Rally Championship, and this victory ensured that Team Mahindra Adventure closed its overall title position in the championship.

The Super XUV500 was driven by current APRC champion Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sheriff), who won the rally, followed by the current Desert Storm Champion Sunny Sidhu (co-driver PVS Murthy) and the reigning Indian Rally Champion, Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) who came in third overall.

The K 1000 Rally is the oldest running rally in the country and the 3rd oldest rally in the world. This year, the rally ran three stages: Alpha stage – 12.75 km, Beta stage – 14.95 km and India Mines stage – 9.55 km. The stages were well laid out and consisted of long straights, hair-pin curves, smooth flat sections, jumps and tight sections, thereby testing the driver and his machine to their limits.

On the occasion, Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer, Automotive Division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. said, “This unprecedented victory by Mahindra SUVs is yet another testimony of the tough and rugged DNA of Mahindra vehicles. Having already won the top positions in three of the four rounds of the Indian Rally Championship, our emphatic win at the prestigious ‘K 1000 Rally 2014’, has sealed our position for the overall title of IRC. The fact that all the three top positions were secured by Team Mahindra make this win even more special. Time and again our SUVs are proving their mettle on rough terrain against the competition and we will continue to do so during the rest of the IRC season as well.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top